A beautiful and kind gesture……

Some four or five weeks ago now I enjoyed a visit from a wonderful friend whom I had not set eyes on in many years.  We share a mutual love for music, film and literature.  I guess we just appreciate each other and “get” one another if that makes sense?

Now, the reason why this old friend wanted to pop over was an intriguing one to say the least.  She had a gift she wanted to give me.  I knew it was going to be something interesting because this friend is perhaps one of the coolest and most unique people I know.  Come to think of it I have an abundance of unique friends in my life.  Wouldn’t have it any other way!

After a cup of tea and some catch up stories the conversation turned to our mutual love of David Bowie and how fantastic it has been this year having him back with a new studio album, yet coupled with his complete silence through the media, which in itself has made the whole affair more captivating.  I guess Bowie just wants to let his music do the talking again?

This element of conversation led to the handing over of the surprise gift.

First out of the bag was……THE BOWIE BUNNY!

Say hello to Bowie bunny! 'ain't he the cutest?

Say hello to Bowie bunny! ‘ain’t he the cutest?

How cool is this little fella?  He’d been in my friends keeping for many years and was now being generously handed down to me.  A real gem, one of a kind and so so cute!  Bowie bunny sits on my bed when I am not in it myself.

Then, when I thought Bowie bunny was enough my friend pulled out an envelope which contained some beautiful fridge magnets that quickly found their way to my fridge door.  Perhaps I am easily pleased but these were the most beautiful and enjoyable gifts I have received in many moons.

My fridge now looks so much coler with this little selection!

My fridge now looks so much cooler with this little selection!

Sometimes it is the gestures of kindness that come, like a bolt out of the blue which mean more to us than anything else.  May my blessing of beautiful and wondrous friends continue for many years to come!

Leave a Reply

