If at first you fail, then try again…..

Last week I set out on a mission to complete at least 100 km’s of running over a seven day period. I fell short coming in at 93 km’s.  I was so close but it seemed so far away.  A quick self assessment led me to think that I could have worked a little harder to lay the foundations at the beginning of the week.

Another week on and I am happy to say that I reached the target with 106 km’s covered and still had some petrol in the tank to keep going had I had more time.  Monday was the foundation that set me on my pathway to reaching my goal.  I covered 14 km’s at 5 am in the morning then followed up with another 8 km’s later that evening.  By setting up a strong foundation for my target on Monday I was almost one quarter toward my goal with a full six days remaining.

By Friday evening I had 81 km’s laid out and was able to cruise through a lazy 19 km target over the weekend with a bit of icing on top for god measure.

The hardest part over these past two weeks has been keeping myself going.  It felt like a massive personal defeat when I failed to hit the 100 km target last week. The feeling of achieving my goal the very next week is something I find very hard to express in words. I’m still buzzing from completing this task, one I have now achieved only twice in my lifetime.

I hope to succeed at this target many more times in the years to come whilst gradually setting and attaining higher goals.

The moral of the story is simple.  If you get knocked down in life, be it a big or small setback, you just keep getting back up on your feet. Each time you get back on your feet make sure you reassess your plans, learn from past mistakes and look for ways to adjust your pathway to ensure your goals in life come to fruition.

Leave a Reply

