I am a DJ, I am what I play!

When one moves house there is always the thrill of stumbling over objects that bring memories of years gone by flooding back.  This morning I was unpacking another box of treasures and stumbled over a flyer from way back in 1996!  It was my second ever attempt to run a club.  My second failed attempt mind.

IMG

The first crack came in December 1995.  I was desperate to run a club that played decent music, or should I suggest music that I felt the rest of Brisbane needed to hear?  So I toddled off and booked a Saturday night at Alice’s Rock Cafe, a now defunct Brisbane venue known to hosting aftershow parties for the likes of Prince once upon a time.

The funny thing is I had no real idea what I was doing so I garnered the help and advice of a good friend and experienced radio presenter Judy to supply her skills as a DJ and thoughts on how to make the night a success.

The night was a total flop with about 20 people rolling up.  Yet, as with all ideas you believe in, if you fail the first, second or third time you keep chipping away until you succeed.  And I knew deep down there were people out there who wanted to hear a mixture of punk/80’s/indie/70’s tunes and the like.  I tried again on June 12 1996 with another Bowie themed night.  Again only a small number of people turned up.

Somehow I knew was a way to succeed at this caper. And within a year my belief was justified!

By mid 1997 I had the the gumption to go out and target my own audience so on the weekend of my 20th birthday I set up shop at The Normanby Hotel and began the serious road to entertaining punters on a more regular basis.  From here I got into promoting local bands for the next few years rode the highs and the buzz of seeing full dance floors enjoying the music I was serving up to them.

There is always a starting point and that night in June 1996 taught me that being involved in music was something I needed to do.  There are times when I wonder what it would be like to get back into the DJ work but sadly my best years are perhaps well behind me on that front.  I’m not sure what the kids want to hear anymore.

So many wonderful memories are tucked away in my mind from this period of my life.  I would not swap them for the earth!  Even if people knock what you do, if you love doing it then the opinions of others have no importance.  Just do what you love doing!

Leave a Reply

