The Happiness Project Update!

Well, it has been a couple of months since my last update and a good deal has transpired in this time.  The question is simple.  Is this happiness project of mine working?

In a nutshell?  Yes!  This project has, in the first five months of the year taught me so much about myself and those around me.  As the weeks and challenges pass I am simply blown away by how amazing my life has become.  The one key aspect that I have noticed more than anything is the people around me.  It seems no matter where I go there are kind gestures from friends and strangers alike.  Perhaps it may be that I am wearing a superior range of deodorant?  Who knows?  Either way life is grand!

I’ve just returned from seven weeks in Europe where I explored various cities around Spain, Belgium, Germany, Holland, Italy and England.  Countless art galleries, museums and back streets were explored though the highlight was by far completing the Brighton marathon on april 14th.  On top of completing the the 26 miles I was more than pleased with my new personal best time of 3 hours and 46 minutes.  The next step from here is to go for a sub 3 hour 30 minute race.

I spent a bit of my time abroad doing something I should do more of back here in Australia.  Some days I would buy some supplies, make some sandwiches and head out to offer them to homeless people living on the street.  The one thing this project has taught me is that I can never do enough to help other people in need.  Whilst in no way life changing for those I helped it was just a nice feeling knowing I could help people eat a small meal, something many of us take for granted.  To see the smiles on the faces was in itself an amazing moment.  I just hope the people I met along the way have a bit of luck to get back on the ladder soon.

Imagine how amazing it would be if everyone who earned an income spent one day of their year going around feeding the homeless?  The positive energy would be immense!

My do it now aspect of the happiness project has reaped some great rewards.  Placing focus on getting the projects that I have had on the back burner over the past couple of years have been getting plenty of my attention.  Once upon a time I would try and do it all in a day.  I have learnt in recent months that you gain greater rewards from your projects by taking it one step at a time.

The biggest project challenge facing me at the moment is cataloging my music collection.  So much to do but chipping away little by little, day by day is proving rather successful.  In doing so I have been able to reassess albums I have not played in a long time.  I have found myself playing a good deal of Jacques Brel and Serge Gainsbourg over the past couple of days since returning home.  The diversity in the music I won astounds me at times.  Even today, just when I think I have heard all I can handle a new singer or band comes along that just blows me away.

In June I have set a target to run at least 100 km’s each and every week of the month. Marathon season is about to kick in and with at least 5 more to run between now and October things will be getting busy on that front so my preparation will be a decisive factor in how well I do and also how well my body holds up.

So there you have it.  The happiness project continues to grow in so many ways and I can honestly say I have never before been this happy with life and the people around me.  If you, like me have been sceptical in said projects in the past can I say now that you will never look back once you begin one yourself.  In time everything you touch will turn to gold and each and every day will leave you in a buzz!

See you all on the flip side pop pickers.

Leave a Reply

