Swooned in Venice!

Consisting of 118 small islands linked together by bridges, Venice is known in many circles as the most romantic city in the world.  Upon the foundation of the first Roman church on 25 March 421, the city has evolved into an attraction for millions of tourists and loved up couples all year round.  What makes Venice such a stirringly beautiful place to visit is the ability to lose oneself in the myriad of back streets that encapsulate the city of romance.

image

My first day in Venice ended with a visit to the local Internet cafe with some American students I had spent the afternoon exploring the city with.  We had walked for hours in the slow drizzle, myself barefoot, which, in some parts of Italy can upset the locals.  Not so it seems here.

As we began to finish up our email reading a man, perhaps a little drunk approached our table and began to sing. Putting it down to his beer googles perhaps, though instead of focusing on the two attractive girls I was with our new friend found it in his heart to sing me a love song from his heart!

One has to admit, despite the raucous laughter from all parties involved my new found friend had a most beautiful voice to share his adulation with.  Now, if he had been a she and around thirty years younger I may have been more inclined to share a drink.  Sadly, I feel our difference in age would eventually have killed off any flickering chances of romance between my new found friend and I.

Still, to arrive in Venice and find myself serenaded in a most humorous way on my first night in town is what random travel is all about.  The day itself was near perfect thanks to the American girls who wandered the cobbled streets with me all afternoon.

I simply would not have life any other way!

Leave a Reply

