Jamie Carragher Retires

News has begun to filter in that Liverpool defender, Jamie Carragher has announced his retirement from football.  

The 35 year old who’s glittering career has included countless winners medals and a playing career dedicated to one club will hang up his boots at the completion of this season.  After making his first team debut in January 1997 against Middlesbrough at the tender age of 18, Carragher’s proudest moment came in 2005 when he was part of the Liverpool team to come from three goals down to win the European Cup on penalties against AC Milan in Istanbul.

ImageHaving played more than 700 first team matches for the reds, Carragher is second only to Ian Callaghan in the clubs record books for most first team appearances.

Carragher stated in a press conference today: “This will be my last season at Liverpool and my last as a professional footballer.

“I’m making this announcement now because I don’t want the manager or the club to be answering questions on my future when I’ve already decided what I am going to do.

“I will be fully committed between now and the end of the season to doing the very best for Liverpool Football Club, as I’ve done my entire career since joining aged just nine-years-old.

Image

In an age where badge kissing, money grabbing and attention seeking is the norm as an international footballer, it has been refreshing to see the loyal character that is Jamie Carragher stick solid through thick and thin.

No doubt he shall be sadly missed, yet never too far away from our hearts.  I feel honoured and deeply privileged to have watched Jamie home and away for the red men over the years and I look forward to one day seeing him return to Anfield, perhaps, even as a manager?

Leave a Reply

